top of page

My Week of Movie Watching

Badlands – First time in several years. I’m always a bit conflicted on this film. It has always been a visual treat, but I sometimes get a bit annoyed by Malicks’ penchant for characters who speak in grunts and mumbles, like Martin Sheens’ Kit does here. I know that is done by design, and I think it is still preferable to clunky exposition dialogue, but sometimes I find that I can’t get close enough to the character. The thing is, all the same stuff can be said about Malicks’ Days of Heaven, and I love that movie unabashedly. I still recommend Badlands for the visuals, and for its subdued take on the “criminal as celebrity” phenomenon, but like I said, I’m conflicted. I like it a lot; I don’t love it.



badlands.JPG



Beach Red – Mediocre 1967 WW2 actioner from Cornel Wilde, who produced and directed it, and stars as the commander of a platoon trying to capture an atoll from the Japanese. The film intercuts frenetic battle scenes with flashes to the civilian life of the participants (Including the Japanese). It’s an interesting concept, and it is effective as a tool in illustrating the films anti-war message. The film falls down, however, because of the performances. Wildes’ captain is unremarkable and dull. Rip Torn plays a gung-ho killer sergeant in the vein of Tom Berenger in Platoon, and he is so over-the-top that you just dismiss him. This concept had some promise, but ultimately, I can’t recommend it.



beachred.JPG


Seven Men from Now – Great, little known Western from the criminally under-appreciated Budd Boetticher. Randolph Scott plays an ex-Sherriff on the hunt for 7 men who murdered his wife during a robbery. Gail Russell and Walter Reed play a couple from the east making their way to California, who meet up with Scott on the trail. Lee Marvin plays a shady bounty hunter who tags along hoping to get in on the money. This one reminded me a bit of Shane, due to the sly way that Boetticher and screenwriter Burt Kennedy rotate their characters ever so slightly away from stereotypical. Scott’s Ben begins to fall for Russells’ Annie, and she is not totally unhappy that he does. Both are aware, however, that she has a husband who seems like a decent guy. The Marvin character is also interesting. He’s certainly not to be trusted, and has his own designs on Annie, but he has a certain sense of honor, as well. The final confrontation between him and Scott is really well-done. I love Gail Russell in this. She was unknown to me, but she does a great job here – She’s strong, and sexy as hell.


7men.JPG

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page